top of page

Near the Cross



John 19:25-26(NIV) - 25Near the cross of Jesus stood his mother, his mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene.26When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to her, “Woman,[a] here is your son,”


Good afternoon, I was wondering if I could get just a few people who are willing to go and be Near the Cross? If I could recount what has happen thus far, how Jesus has just received his sentenced to be crucified after been found with no fault. They adorn him with a purple robe and place a crown of thorns on his head. As he made his way up the hill, it is record in the above verse who was standing near the cross. If I would take a poll today, I'm sure the numbers may not be much greater. There would be few who would be willing to stand Near the Cross. The picture was not a beautiful one from the outside, but it was much more glorious for what was taken place inside of Jesus which allows us to part of the transformation for our own lives. The cross recalls the crucifixion of Jesus and also the redeeming benefits from his passionate death.


The challenge for many of us is that we don't want to be Near the Cross. The cross challenges us to change. It challenges us to surrender. How do I know? We can turn the pages in our Bible and read Jesus' story of change and surrender. With all that is going on in this world, we need to be Near the Cross. Where were the multitudes? Where were the rest of the disciples? Where are you? We just can't want all of his benefits, but want no part of being Near the Cross. I love being Near the Cross. It is there, where I know his love is unconditional. It is there, where I know I can sit in his Holy presence. Life happens and we find ourselves not Near the Cross. Lord help us today, we started out strong and then we got distracted, some may have shifted which caused a delay and then we have others that are just in denial, but today I invite you to come back Near the Cross. We are just one decision away from picking up from where we left off. We can make a another choice. Choose today to come and be Near the Cross. If you don't come Near the Cross you can't see what was written and you can't hear what was said because you are too far away. All I know that when I am Near the Cross my focus is off of me, but on Jesus our Savior and God's purpose and will for my life.


So, I asked again today, come and go with me. Come and go Near the Cross? The songwriter, Francis J. Crosby wrote "Near the cross! O Lamb of God, Bring its scenes before me; Help me walk from day to day, With its shadows o’er me. Near the cross I’ll watch and wait Hoping, trusting ever, Till I reach the golden strand, Just beyond the river.


Have a blessed and wonderful Sunday.


Love you,

Pastor Jai

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page